Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)


ECLAC was established in 1948 as one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America. Later on, its mandate was expanded to include the countries of the Caribbean and the goal of promoting social development. ECLAC promotes economic, social, and environmentally sustainable development through international cooperation, research, and the promotion of regional and subregional technical cooperation activities and projects taking the region's priorities into account.




Open Government

ECLAC continues to promote the principles of open government and their embodiment in concrete initiatives to enhance transparency and access to information by making public data available in open formats for the sake of transparency and accountability and to encourage the re-use of public sector information in ways that foster innovation and economic development. Since 2011, it has organized some 20 international and national courses on open government topics, providing training to more than 1,000 people from 19 countries in the Americas. The courses are geared to building national capabilities in such areas as: reforms of the State, open government, transparency, and access to public information and open data.
Together with the Open Government Partnership (OGP), ECLAC, the Latin American Centre for Development Administration (CLAD), and the Organization of American States (OAS) jointly organizes an annual, semi-virtual international course called "Strategies for Open Governance in the Americas."

Improving Public Administration

Through its Planning for Development area, ECLAC assists countries in the region with planning and public administration for sustainable development. To that end, ECLAC serves as a platform for intergovernmental dialogue aimed at sharing experiences and best practices and it offers training, vocational training, and capacity-building services on topics relating to development planning, in addition to producing studies and doing research.

Gender Equality

With a view to fostering actions to advance gender equity and equality and the empowerment of women in connection with implementation of the Lima Commitment, ECLAC is a member of the Inter-American Task Force on Women's Empowerment and Leadership, founded in the wake of the Eighth Summit of the Americas. The ultimate goal of the Task Force is to contribute to the advancement of women's and girls' rights in the Americas. Two intermediate hoped-for outcomes are:
  • Greater commitment by key institutions to increasing women's participation in public sector decision-making in the Americas
  • Greater coordination by key stakeholders in efforts to increase the empowerment and rights of women and girls in the Americas.
To achieve its mission, the Task Force has a clear roadmap with three pillars:
  • Knowledge sharing
  • Institutional coordination
  • Advocacy strategies
The Task Force comprises ECLAC, Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), OAS, Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), Development Bank of Latin America (CAF), UN Women, ParlAmericas, Latin American and Caribbean Committee for the Defense of Women's Rights (CLADEM), and the Caribbean Institute for Women in Leadership (CIWiL).


Con la firma del Memorando de Entendimiento entre las entidades del Grupo de Trabajo Conjunto de Cumbres (GTCC), en Septiembre 2018, se promueve un marco de cooperación entre las Partes, a través del GTCC, para fortalecer la coordinación en apoyo de la implementación y el seguimiento de los mandatos de Cumbres de las Américas.